Use of cookies
We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
Professor Christine Hawley wins 2016 RIBA Annie Spink Award

RIBA Annie Spink Award 2016 winner

02 December 2016

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (2 December 2016) announced the winner of the 2016 RIBA Annie Spink Award for excellence in architectural education.

Professor Christine Hawley, Professor Emeritus of the Bartlett School of Architecture (UCL), will be presented with the award at the RIBA President’s Medals Ceremony in London on 6 December.

The biennial prize is awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of architectural education in a school of architecture anywhere in the world that offers courses validated by the RIBA.

RIBA President Jane Duncan said:

“Congratulations to Professor Christine Hawley on winning the 2016 RIBA Annie Spink Award. Christine is a dedicated and talented teacher whose enthusiasm has helped inspire generations of young architects. She has long been a champion for excellence in architectural education throughout her career and I am delighted to see her recognised through this award.”

On receiving the award, Professor Hawley said:

“Who would not be absolutely thrilled at being awarded the RIBA Annie Spink Award? It is an absolute honour.

“I have been lucky enough to work with some of the most creative young students in architecture for the last four decades but the act of teaching, for me, has also been about learning – sometimes they are the teachers and I am the pupil.

“As someone who has also been the Head of two Schools of Architecture and the Dean of the Bartlett I have also learnt another important lesson: a creative environment is made only through people. I have collaborated with truly great teachers so this award honours both the students and teachers I have worked with.”


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information contact Callum Reilly in the RIBA Press Office: 020 7307 3757
  2. Biography of Professor Christine Hawley:

    Christine Hawley completed her Architectural Association Diploma in 1975. While she was completing her studies, she worked for the Department of Environment and practiced with Renton, Howard, Wood and Levin Architects. From 1972 to 1973 she practiced with De Soissons Partnership Architects and Yorke Rosenberg and Mardell (YRM) Architects.

    In 1975, Hawley became a partner in Cook and Hawley Architects. In 1978 she registered as a British architect and practiced with Pearson International Architects. In 1998 she established Christine Hawley Architects.

    Hawley's academic career is long and distinguished. From 1979 to 1987 she taught at the Architectural Association School of Architecture, and from 1987 to 1993 she was head of the University of East London School of Architecture (formerly PEL). In 1993 she became Professor of Architectural Studies at London's Bartlett School of Architecture, Building, Environmental Design and Planning. In 1999, Hawley was made Dean of the Faculty of the Built Environment and Head of School at the Bartlett, the largest graduate school specialising in the built environment in the UK. Since 2015 Hawley has held the title of Professor of Architectural Design.

    The £10,000 Annie Spink award is financed by the Annie Spink Trust Fund, which was established in 1974 by architect Herbert Spink FRIBA. He bequeathed the trust as a lasting memorial to his wife Annie, who died in 1938, as an honour for the ‘advancement of architectural education’. Past recipients of the Annie Spink Award include Florian Beigel, Nigel Coates, Peter Cook and Dalibor Vesely.
  3. For further information about the award, please visit or contact John-Paul Nunes, Head of Education Projects on 020 7307 3604 or
  4. The Royal Institute of British Architects (@RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top