IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA confirms 2021 and 2022 UK Awards programme plans

The RIBA has today announced that the next call for UK awards entries will be next year – for the 2022 RIBA Awards.

27 November 2020

The RIBA has today announced that the next call for UK awards entries will be next year – for the 2022 RIBA Awards.

The 2021 RIBA UK Awards (including Regional, National and the RIBA Stirling Prize) will be selected from the shortlist for the 2020 RIBA Regional, RIAS, and RSAW Awards.

The RIBA will continue to build on its rigorous eligibility and judging criteria, and, from the 2022 RIBA Awards, will require all project entries to have been in use for one year. This change will enable judges to assess projects with even more detail on their performance, more extensive client feedback, and a better understanding of how the project functions within its civic, communal and environmental context. It will also add greater focus to the sustainability criteria – further aligning them with the standards set out in the RIBA 2030 Climate Challenge.

RIBA President Alan Jones said:

"I am pleased that the 2021 RIBA UK Awards will focus on judging and celebrating the exceptional projects that we were unable to visit this year. Not only is this the fairest outcome - reached after detailed consultation with entrants and jurors - but it provides an unexpected opportunity for us to bring forward plans to significantly refresh our judging criteria – with projects having to be in use for one year. The RIBA and our members are committed to the best, sustainable design that will serve generations to come, and I am pleased that from 2022 we will be able to further demonstrate this through our awards programme.”


Notes to editors:

  1. Press contact: or +44 (0) 20 7496 8349
  2. The RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA Award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA Awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows. Entries are to be submitted to the region or nation in which the building is situated. Projects are judged first for RIBA Regional Awards, then RIBA National Awards; the RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist is selected from winners of the RIBA National Awards.
  3. RIAS runs their own awards programmes annually. RIAS Award winners are eligible for an RIBA National Award. The 2021 and 2022 RIAS Awards programme (timetable, eligibility, entry and judging criteria) will align with the RIBA.
  4. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. Follow @RIBA on Twitter for regular updates.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top