Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

East of England architecture winners revealed East of England architecture winners revealed

A Buddhist Retreat Centre in the heart of the Suffolk countryside and a local authority’s first housing development on the outskirts of Norwich are among a record seventeen buildings to win one of this year’s RIBA East Awards from the Royal Institute of British Architects, in recognition of their architectural excellence and contribution to society.

The East of England buildings that have won an RIBA East Award 2017 are:


  • University of Cambridge Primary School, Cambridge, by Marks Barfield Architects, London
  • Lode House, Cambridgeshire, by Henry Goss Architects, London
  • Combined Colleges Boathouse, Cambridge, by R H Partnership Architects (RHP), Cambridge
  • Heong Gallery, Downing College, Cambridge, by Caruso St John Architects, London
  • Cowan Court, Churchill College, Cambridge, by 6a architects, London
  • The Welding Institute, Great Abington, by Eric Parry Architects, London


  • The Echoes, Grays, by Bell Phillips Architects, London
  • Redshank, Essex, by Lisa Shell Architects Ltd with Marcus Taylor, London


  • St Albans Abbey, St Albans, by Richard Griffiths Architects, London
  • Modern Detached, Hertfordshire, by Coffey Architects, London


  • Backwater, Norfolk, by Platform 5 Architects, London
  • Carrowbreck Meadow, Norwich, by Hamson Barron Smith, Norwich
  • The Enterprise Centre, University of East Anglia, Norwich, by Architype, London
  • Holkham Hall Stables and Pottery Building, Wells-Next-the-Sea, by Hopkins Architects, London


  • Vajrasana Buddhist Retreat Centre, Suffolk, by Walters & Cohen Architects, London
  • Marsh Hill, Suffolk, by Mole Architects, Cambridge
  • Peacock House, Suffolk, by BHSF Architekten, Zurich with Studio-P, London

From the 17 regional award winners, a number of special awards have also been announced.

The ultimate accolade of RIBA East Building of the Year 2017, sponsored by Marley Eternit, has been awarded to Vajrasana Buddhist Retreat Centre, Suffolk, by Walters & Cohen Architects.

The Enterprise Centre, University of East Anglia, Norwichby Architype picked up two special awards - the RIBA East Sustainability Award sponsored by Geberit, and the clients, Adapt Low Carbon Group & the University of East Anglia, were named the RIBA East Client of the Year, sponsored by Tobermore.

The RIBA East awards jury were unable to split two outstanding conservation projects and so the RIBA East Conservation Award, was awarded to both St Albans Abbey by Richard Griffiths Architects, and Holkham Hall Stables and Pottery Building by Hopkins Architects.

In addition to the Conservation Award, Richard Griffiths also picked up the RIBA East Project Architect of the Year Award, sponsored by Taylor Maxwell, for his work on St Albans Abbey.

Last but not least, the RIBA East Small Project of the Year went to Redshank in Essex, by Lisa Shell Architects Ltd with Marcus Taylor.

The Awards were presented at an awards ceremony at Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge this evening (Thursday 18 May 2017), hosted by Nicolas Tye, RIBA East Regional Chairman, and Awards Jury Chairman Anthony Hudson of Hudson Architects, with keynote speaker Alan Vallance, RIBA Chief Executive.

Speaking today, Louise Todd, RIBA East Regional Director, said:

“We spent five days out on the road visiting the 30 shortlisted schemes and it was just fabulous to see the diversity and exceptional quality of buildings around the region. The jury had a really difficult task in selecting the winners, which says a lot for the strength of the shortlist and the creativity of the architects involved . These buildings all demonstrate that by engaging with an architect, clients can achieve remarkable buildings that improve our communities and enhance people’s lives.”


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information, please contact: | 01223 566285 or
  2. Winners of the RIBA East Awards will go forward as contenders for the RIBA National Awards, the winners of which will be announced on 22 June 2017. Winners of an RIBA National or EU Award are then considered for the RIBA Stirling Prize, announced in October.
  3. The RIBA East Special Awards are sponsored by Geberit, Taylor Maxwell, Tobermore and Marley Eternit. Microsoft is the RIBA Awards Exclusive Technology Partner.
  4. RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top