IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA East Midlands Awards 2016 winners

The RIBA East Midlands Awards 2016 winners were announced at a prestigious awards ceremony held at Nottingham Contemporary this evening (27 April 2016).

Nine East Midlands buildings have won RIBA East Midlands Awards from the Royal Institute of British Architects, which were announced at a prestigious awards ceremony held at Nottingham Contemporary this evening (Wednesday 27 April 2016), in recognition of their architectural excellence. The event was hosted by BBC East Midlands TV presenter Marie Ashby and guest of honour was RIBA President Jane Duncan.

The winning buildings are:

  • Contour House, Derbyshire by Sanei Hopkins Architects
  • Derby Arena by FaulknerBrowns Architects
  • Garden Buildings, Warmington, Northamptonshire by Ashworth Parkes Architects
  • Heart of Campus, Nottingham Trent University by Evans Vettori Architects
  • Leicester Print Workshop by Takero Shimazaki Architects
  • Lincoln Castle Revealed by Arrol & Snell
  • Nottingham One by Levitate
  • Private house, Northamptonshire by James Gorst Architects
  • The Portland Collection, Welbeck Estate, Worksop by Hugh Broughton Architects

Regional Jury Chair Lucy Plumridge said of this year’s Award-winners:

"The large number of schemes shortlisted for the 2016 RIBA East Midlands Awards reflects the calibre of the entries and the range of inspirational projects being developed in this region. The quality and attention to detail exhibited by the winning schemes was outstanding. Recurrent themes were innovation in the approach, the close working relationship between client and architect to bring the projects to life, and the embedded sustainability in the designs. Every scheme suited its end users perfectly, creating a sense of place and an aspirational environment."

Further Special Awards are awarded to:

  • The Portland Collection - RIBA East Midlands Sustainability Award, sponsored by SIKA
  • The Portland Collection - RIBA East Midlands Conservation Award, sponsored by Nottingham Trent University
  • Leicester Print Workshop - RIBA East Midlands Small Project Award
  • Nottingham Trent University for Heart of Campus - RIBA East Midlands Client of the Year;
  • Jennifer Frewen, Takero Shimazaki Architects - RIBA East Midlands Project Architect of the Year, sponsored by Tarmac, for Leicester Print Workshop
  • The Portland Collection - RIBA East Midlands Building of the Year, sponsored by Marley Eternit

RIBA East Midlands Award winners will also be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.

Two RIBA East Midlands Student Awards were also awarded to Sam Letchford (Part 1 prize for 2015), from Nottingham Trent University for ‘Cascina Cultura’ and to Daniel Orford (Part 2 prize for 2015), University of Lincoln for ‘Hedonistic Pleasurescapes’.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information please contact: Lucy Grierson 07534 178327
  2. RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country.
  3. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top