Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

RIBA Honorary Fellowships 2017

29 September 2016

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (Thursday 29 September) announced the 2017 RIBA Honorary Fellowships, which will be awarded to seventeen individuals from a diverse spectrum of backgrounds, including journalism, local government, art, architectural history and design.

RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who have made a particular contribution to architecture in its broadest sense. This includes its promotion, administration and outreach; and its role in building more sustainable communities and in the education of future generations.

The 2017 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be awarded to:

  • Iwan Baan – Photographer
  • Neil Baxter – Secretary and Treasurer, Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS)
  • Patricia Brown – Director of Central and outgoing Chair of LFA
  • Martyn Evans – Deputy Chair, London Festival of Architecture
  • Marcus Fairs – Founder and Editor-in-Chief, Dezeen
  • Stephen Howlett – Chief Executive, Peabody
  • Razia Iqbal – Journalist, BBC News
  • Jeremy Paul Melvin – Architectural historian and curator
  • Frédéric Migayrou – Chair, Bartlett Professor of Architecture, The Bartlett School of Architecture
  • Lars Müller – Publisher
  • Christine Murray – Editor-in-Chief, The Architects’ Journal and The Architectural Review
  • Jo Negrini – Chief Executive, London Borough of Croydon
  • Ian Pritchard – Secretary General, Architects’ Council of Europe
  • Julian S. Robinson – Director of Estates, London School of Economics
  • Dame Theresa Sackler – Dr Mortimer and Theresa Sackler Foundation
  • Sonia Watson – CEO, Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust
  • Nathalie Weadick – Director, Irish Architecture Foundation

The lifetime honour allows recipients to use the initials Hon FRIBA after their name.

The 2017 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be presented at a special event at the RIBA, 66 Portland Place, London, W1 in early 2017.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information contact Callum Reilly in the RIBA press office: 020 7307 3757
  2. Honorary Fellowships are awarded by the RIBA each year to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the quality of architecture, the achievements of the profession and the aims and objectives of the RIBA. Any person who is not an architect may be nominated by RIBA members and elected as an Honorary Fellow.
  3. The 2016 RIBA Honours Committee who selected the 2017 Fellows was chaired by RIBA President Jane Duncan with Sir Peter Cook, Neil Gillespie OBE, Victoria Thornton OBE and the 2015 Royal Gold Medallist Sheila O’Donnell.
  4. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. Follow us on Twitter for regular RIBA updates

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top