IMPORTANT INFORMATION COVID-19: Read the RIBA’s latest advice and information. | Website terms of use and cookie statement.

RIBA International Fellowships 2017

29 September 2016

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) today (Thursday 29 September) announced the 2017 RIBA International Fellowships which will be awarded to twelve non-UK architects, of whom four are in partnership.

The RIBA's 2017 International Fellowships are:

  • Johan Celsing – Johan Celsing Arkitektkontor, Sweden
  • Izaskun Chinchilla – Izaskun Chinchilla Architects, Spain
  • Frederick Cooper – COOPER GRAÑA NICOLlNI ARCHITECTS (now CGGMS architects), Peru
  • Philip Cox – COX Architecture, Australia
  • Tom de Paor – dePaor, Ireland
  • Francisco Vieira de Campos and Cristina Guedes – Menos é Mais, Portugal
  • Bijoy Jain – Studio Mumbai, India
  • Siv Helene Stangeland and Reinhard Kropf – Helen & Hard, Norway and Austria
  • Vo Trong Nghia – Vo Trong Nghia Architects, Vietnam
  • Marie Jose Van Hee – MJose Van Hee Architecten, Belgium

The lifetime honour allows individual recipients to use the initials Int FRIBA after their name.

The 2017 RIBA International Fellowships will be presented at a special event at the RIBA, 66 Portland Place, London, W1 in early 2017.



  1. For further press information contact Callum Reilly in the RIBA press office: 020 7307 3757
  2. RIBA International Fellowships reward the particular contributions non-UK architects have made to architecture.
  3. The 2016 RIBA Honours Committee who selected the 2017 Fellows was chaired by RIBA President Jane Duncan with Sir Peter Cook, Neil Gillespie OBE, Victoria Thornton OBE and the 2015 Royal Gold Medallist Sheila O’Donnell.
  4. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. Follow us on Twitter for regular RIBA updates

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top