IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA London Awards 2016 shortlist

Sixty-eight buildings in the capital have been shortlisted for the 2016 RIBA London Awards.

The Royal Institute of British Architects has today (3 March 2016) announced that 68 buildings in the Capital have been shortlisted for the 2016 RIBA London Awards.

All shortlisted buildings will now be visited and carefully assessed by one of four regional juries. The winners of this year’s RIBA London Awards will then be announced at a special awards ceremony on Tuesday, 3rd May 2016. The ceremony takes place at the Stirling Prize nominated University of Greenwich, Stockwell Street Building.

London Regional winners will then be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the UK’s best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.

This year’s shortlisted buildings include:

Building name Practice

142 Bermondsey Street

Hampson Williams Ltd

19-22 Rodmarton Street

Bennetts Associates

2 St James's Street

MJP Architects and Short and Associates

240 Blackfriars Road

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

61 Oxford Street

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

8 St James's Square

Eric Parry Architects


Studio RHE Ltd.

ARK All Saints Academy and Highshore School

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Brentford Lock West

Mikhail Riches with Cathy Hawley

Camberwell Library

John McAslan + Partners

Camley Street

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Carnaby Court

Rolfe Judd

Cobalt Place

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Copper Lane

Henley Halebrown Rorrison

Corner House


Courtyard Housing

Patel Taylor

Covert House


Curzon Bloomsbury

Takero Shimazaki Architects and Unick Architects Ltd

Ely Court, South Kilburn

Alison Brooks Architects Ltd and Hester Architects

Forest Mews

Robert & Jessica Barker

Gagosian Gallery, Mayfair

TateHindle and Caruso St John

Garden House

Hayhurst and Co.

Gasholder Park

Bell Phillips Architects

Godson Street

Edgley Design and Spaced Out Architecture Studio (SOAS)

Graveney School Sixth Form Block

Urban Projects Bureau

Greenwich Gateway Pavilions

Marks Barfield Architects

Greenwich Housing

Bell Phillips Architects

Harris House

Niall McLaughlin Architects

House of Trace

Tsuruta Architects

Housing at Shepherdess Walk

Jaccaud Zein Architects

Institution of Structural Engineers Headquarters

Hugh Broughton Architects

King's College Road

Thomson Lavers Architects

King's Cross Tunnel

Allies and Morrison and Bam design

Kingston Ancient Market Place and Stalls

Tonkin Liu

Lyndhurst Primary School

Cottrell and Vermeulen Architecture

Maurice Wohl Clinical Neuroscience Institute

Allies and Morrison and PM Devereux

Merchant Square Footbridge

Knight Architects

Modern Mews

Coffey Architects

Modern Side Extension

Coffey Architects

Morelands Rooftop

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Mount Pleasant Hostel

Peter Barber Architects

Newport Street Gallery

Caruso St John Architects

Pegasus Court, Grahame Park

Peter Barber Architects

Prowse Court and Lord Graham Mews

Hawkins\Brown and Nightingales

Ravens Enclosure, HM Tower of London

Llowarch Llowarch Architects

RCA Battersea

Haworth Tompkins

Regent High School

Walters & Cohen Architects

Richmond Adult Community College

Duggan Morris Architects and Architecture PLB

Royal Road

Panter Hudspith Architects

Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour at UCL

Ian Ritchie Architects Limited

Sir John Soane's Museum

Julian Harrap Architects LLP

Studio McLeod

Studio McLeod

The Bath House Children's Community Centre

Lipton Plant Architects

The Green

AOC Architecture Ltd

The London Oratory School Refurbishment

IID Architects

The Plimsoll Building

David Morley Architects and Weedon Architects

The Royal Hospital Chelsea, Long Wards

Peregrine Bryant Architecture and Building Conservation

The Tailored House

Liddicoat & Goldhill LLP

Thornsett Road

Allies and Morrison

Tin House

Henning Stummel Architects

Trafalgar Place, Elephant and Castle

dRMM Architects



U and I Headquarters

Coffey Architects

Vaudeville Court

Levitt Bernstein

Waddesdon Bequest Gallery

Stanton Williams and Purcell

Wilton's Music Hall

Tim Ronalds Architects

Wistaston Cottage

Simon Gill Architects


Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners


Notes to editors:

  1. For press enquires, including access to high-res press images of all the shortlisted projects, please contact RIBA London, 020 7307 3624
  2. The RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA Award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA Awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows. Entries are submitted to the region or nation in which the building is situated. Winners of an RIBA National or EU Award are considered for the RIBA Stirling Prize.
  3. RIBA London also grants a number of Regional Awards, for projects which show excellence at a regional level. These are not eligible for the RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist.
  4. The winning buildings for the RIBA London Regional Awards will be announced at a special evening celebration at the University of Greenwich Stockwell Street Building on Tuesday, 3 May.
  5. The RIBA's London Region represents some 12,000 members and over 1,000 chartered practices in the capital and aims to promote excellence in the profession and the value of good design through a range of projects that celebrate achievements, campaign for quality, develop skills, offer training, further education and create opportunities for those in the capital. The RIBA stand is open to all RIBA chartered practices.
  6. Follow us for London architecture updates @RIBA_London

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top