IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA South East Awards 2016 shortlist

Thirty-two buildings entered in the region, which covers Kent, Surrey and East and West Sussex and the Channel Islands.

Eleven buildings have been shortlisted for RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) South East 2016 Awards. There were 32 buildings entered in the region, which covers Kent, Surrey and East and West Sussex and the Channel Islands.

The buildings that have been shortlisted for RIBA South East Awards this year are:


  • Restoration of St Edward’s Presbytery, Ramsgate by Thomas Ford & Partners
  • Ashes Folly, Kent by Richard Hopkinson Architects
  • North Vat, Kent by Rodic Davidson Architects

East Sussex

  • The Attenborough Centre for the Creative Arts, University of Sussex by R H Partnership Architects
  • Gateway Café, Peacehaven by Kaner Olette Architects
  • Cinque Ports Street, Rye by Jonathan Dunn Architects
  • New House, Hadlow Down, East Sussex by BBM Sustainable Design
  • Coast House, East Sussex by Cassion Castle Architects
  • The Narrow House, East Sussex by Sanei Hopkins Architects
  • Private house, East Sussex by WAM – Walker and Martin Architects


  • Le Petit Fort, Jersey by Hudson Architects.

All shortlisted buildings will be assessed by a regional jury with the winning buildings announced at an Awards evening and reception at Ascot Racecourse on Thursday 28 April.

Regional Award winners will be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further information and access to high-resolution press images please contact Jenny Peterson: 07501 466 648
  2. Details of the private houses shortlisted for RIBA Awards are confidential at this stage.
  3. Sponsors for the RIBA South/South East Awards evening on 28 April include Ibstock, Marley Eternit, SIKA and Tarmac.
  4. RIBA Awards have run continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA Award-winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA Awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows.
  5. The RIBA Awards 2016 are kindly sponsored by:
    Marley Eternit
  6. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top