IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA West Midlands Awards 2016 shortlist

The Royal Institute of British Architects has announced the West Midlands shortlist for its annual awards.

The Royal Institute of British Architects has today (2 March 2016) announced the West Midlands shortlist for its annual Awards. Following the success of the Library of Birmingham in 2014 and Middleport Pottery in 2015, the Awards have become the benchmark in identifying the best new Architecture in the West Midlands.

The eight shortlisted buildings are:

  1. Assay Office Birmingham by Glazzard Architects
  2. Birmingham New Street Station by AZPML
  3. Chattock Gardens, Solihull by Khoury Architects
  4. McIntyre House, Birmingham by Associated Architects
  5. Redhill, Worcestershire by Glazzard Architects
  6. School Yard, Birmingham by Bryant Priest Newman Architects
  7. The Master’s House, Ledbury by Butler Hegarty Architects
  8. Whiteacres, Warwickshire by Emma Vergette

Jonathan Hines, Chairman of the Judging Panel, commented:

The jury was impressed by the overall standard of quality of the buildings submitted this year. The range of buildings, from residential projects to a major infrastructure scheme, was quite striking and made our job a challenging one. Congratulations to all who have been shortlisted and we look forward to announcing the winners in April.

All shortlisted buildings will be assessed by a regional jury and the winners of RIBA West Midlands Awards will be announced on 28 April 2016. Regional winners will also be considered for a coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information and access to high-resolution press images please contact Gursharan Kaur 07989 079896
  2. The RIBA Awards 2016 are kindly sponsored by
    1. Tarmac
    2. Marley Eternit
    3. Sika
  3. RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows.
  4. Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top