Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

RIBA West Midlands Awards 2016 winners

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) last night 28th April, announced the winners of the RIBA Regional Awards for 2016, four West Midlands buildings won RIBA West Midlands Regional Awards in recognition of their architectural excellence from the eight buildings which were shortlisted.

The winning buildings are:

  • Chattock Gardens, Solihull by Khoury Architects
  • McIntyre House, Birmingham by Associated Architects
  • The Master’s House, Ledbury by Butler Hegarty Architects
  • The School Yard, Harborne by BPN Architects

From the above regional winners, four special category awards have been announced:

  • RIBA West Midlands Project Architect of the Year
    Andrew Khoury at Khoury Architects for Chattock Gardens
  • RIBA West Midlands Client of the Year
    EDG Property for The School Yard
  • RIBA West Midlands Conservation Project of the Year
    The Master’s House in Ledbury by Butler Hegarty Architects
  • RIBA West Midlands Building of the Year
    The Master’s House in Ledbury by Butler Hegarty Architects

Speaking today, Jonathan Hines, RIBA West Midlands Jury Chair said:

"Choosing the winners was really tough. The shortlisted schemes were so diverse but I think we’ve been able to select four well-crafted and skilfully executed buildings. Congratulations to both the shortlisted schemes and to this year’s winners!"

RIBA West Midlands Regional Award winners will also be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information, and access to high resolution press images and citations, please contact Gursharan Kaur: 07989 079896
  2. This event is kindly sponsored by Marley Eternit, Tarmac and Sika.
  3. RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows.
  4. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top