Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

Six West Midlands buildings win 2017 architecture awards Six West Midlands buildings win 2017 architecture awards

15 May 2017

Six West Midlands buildings have won RIBA West Midlands Awards from the Royal Institute of British Architects. The awards which are given in recognition of their architectural interest are being announced at a prestigious awards ceremony held at the Rofuto Restaurant, Park Regis Hotel, Birmingham this evening (Monday 15 May 2017). – please note embargo date and time above. The event is hosted by TV presenter, Chairman of the National Custom and Selfbuild Association and Director of Centaur Home Interest Media, Michael Holmes. The guest of honour will be Marcus Fairs, Founder and Editor-in-chief of online magazine Dezeen. Launched in 2006, Dezeen is widely regarded as the most influential and popular design website in the world.

The winning buildings are:

  • Alan Walters Building, University of Birmingham by Berman Guedes Stretton
  • Croft Lodge Studio, Leominster by Kate Darby Architects
  • Jaguar Land Rover Engine Manufacturing Centre by Arup Associates
  • Remembrance Centre, National Memorial Arboretum, Alrewas by Glenn Howells Architects
  • St Michael's Hospice, Hereford by Architype
  • The Compound by BPN Architects

Regional Jury Chair, Natalia Maximova, said of this year’s Award-winners:

“This year's winning projects prove that a good architecture should allow its user a space and time to absorb and to reflect. The selected designs frame our experience of the buildings and spaces rather than dictate it. They highlight the fact that there is no true architecture without a clear vision and a strong concept. Originality remains a highly valued commodity and a source of inspiration for others and therefore should be recognised.

“The winners deliver an architecture with a narrative and a poetry, while also fully responding to the functional needs of the facilities they created. It is a year of quieter and well-mannered design, nevertheless, no less confident and powerful for that reason.”

Further Special Awards are given to:

  • Jaguar Land Rover Engine Manufacturing Centre - RIBA West Midlands Sustainability Award, sponsored by Gerberit
  • The Compound - RIBA West Midlands Conservation Award
  • Croft Lodge Studio - RIBA West Midlands Small Project Award
  • The Compound - RIBA West Midlands Client of the Year Award sponsored by Tobermore
  • Paul Neep, Architype - RIBA West Midlands Project Architect of the Year Award, for St Michaels Hospice sponsored by Taylor Maxwell
  • Remembrance Centre, National Memorial Arboretum - RIBA West Midlands Building of the Year Award, sponsored by Marley Eternit

RIBA West Midlands Award winners will also be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information please contact:
    Debbie Walsh |
  2. RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top