IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarship 2016 winners

RIBA and the Wren announce the five winners of the 2016 RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships.

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and The Wren Insurance Association Limited (the Wren), the architects’ professional indemnity insurance mutual, have announced five 2016 RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships. Each winner will receive £5,000 for the last year of their Part 2 course in architecture and the opportunity to be mentored by a Member of the Wren.

The 2016 winners are:

  • Jordan Green, Welsh School of Architecture, Cardiff University
  • Aidan Hermans, Royal College of Art
  • Matthew Lucraft, The Bartlett School of Architecture, University College London
  • Nathan Su, Architectural Association
  • Wing Hang (Daniel) Tang, London South Bank University

RIBA President Jane Duncan said:

“I’m delighted that the generosity of the Wren Insurance Association has enabled us to support another five students who will contribute positively to the future of the profession. I have no doubt that this cohort will be as impressive and as creative as in previous years.”

David Stanford, Chairman of Wren, said:

“I am delighted that Jordan Green, Aidan Hermans, Matthew Lucraft, Nathan Su and Daniel Tang are the winners of the 2016 RIBA Wren Scholarships. The Wren Insurance Association is proud of its continuing sponsorship of these Scholarships, now in its 4th year, which will provide significant support for this group of excellent students in their final year at university, both in financial terms and by the mentoring offered by its Members who come from 58 of the UK’s leading architectural practices.”


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information please contact Callum Reilly in the RIBA Press Office on 020 7307 3757 or email
  2. The scholarship scheme was created in 2013 as part of the Wren’s 25th anniversary celebrations. For more information about the Wren see
  3. The recipients of funding were selected after an initial shortlisting stage followed by individual interviews with a judging panel consisting of: Albena Atanassova (Scott Brownrigg and RIBA Council member), Chris Bennie (TP Bennett), Jonathan Hall (Allford Hall Monaghan Morris), David Lawrence (Flanagan Lawrence), Clare Richards (member of the RIBA Education Trust Funds Committee). David Gloster, Director of Education at RIBA was present as independent moderator of the judging process.
  4. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. Visit and follow @RIBA on Twitter.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top