Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
RIBA Yorkshire Awards 2016 winners

RIBA Yorkshire Awards 2016 winners

21 April 2016

Six outstanding new Yorkshire buildings won RIBA Yorkshire Awards from the Royal Institute of British Architects at a prestigious awards ceremony held last night (Thursday 21 April 2016), in recognition of their architectural excellence.

The winning buildings are:

  • Brynmor Jones Library, University of Hull by Sheppard Robson
  • Contemporary Lean-To, Harrogate by Doma Architects
  • Laidlaw Library, University of Leeds by ADP LLP
  • New House, Brigsley by Hodson Architects
  • Stanbrook Abbey, North York Moors National Park by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • York Art Gallery, York by Ushida Findlay and Simpson & Brown Architects

A further six Special Category Awards were presented:

  • RIBA Yorkshire Conservation Award: York Art Gallery, Ushida Findlay and Simpson & Brown Architects
  • RIBA Yorkshire Sustainability Award sponsored by Sika: Brynmor Jones Library, Sheppard Robson
  • RIBA Yorkshire Small Project Award: Contemporary Lean-to, Doma Architects
  • RIBA Yorkshire Client of the Year: Dr Richard Heseltine, Director of Library and Learning Innovation and University Librarian, University of Hull for The Brynmor Jones Library
  • RIBA Yorkshire Project Architect of the Year sponsored by Tarmac: Tom Van Hoffelen, Simpson & Brown Architects for York Art Gallery
  • RIBA Yorkshire Building of the Year sponsored by Marley Eternit: Stanbrook Abbey, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Caroline Buckingham of HLM Architects, Jury Chair, said:

"In the 2016 RIBA Yorkshire Award winning buildings, we witnessed total dedication from the architects, enhanced and supported by the clients. This was borne out in the quality of the projects produced and the exquisite attention to detail shown. The winning projects ranged from a little gem whose understated title completely unlocked a clever and enlightening remodelling of a Victorian villa, to a new Abbey beautifully and lovingly executed over a number of years and sitting majestically in the Yorkshire countryside. Many of the projects included historic elements which were seamlessly brought together in a sensitive but simple way, expertly executed with delightful detailing."

RIBA Yorkshire winners will also be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, which will be announced on 23 June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.


Notes to editors:

  1. For access to the judges' citations and images of buildings that have won RIBA Yorkshire Awards please contact Rachel Hunnybun 0113 3899870 or Claire Young 0113 3899870
  2. RIBA Yorkshire Awards judges:
    Caroline Buckingham, HLM Architects (Jury Chair)
    Jon Forman, Jonathan Forman Architects (Regional Representative)
    Nick Guttridge, Photographer (Lay Assessor)
  3. Special Category Award sponsors:
    Building of the Year sponsored by Marley Eternit
    Sustainability Award sponsored by SIKA
    Project Architect of the Year sponsored by Tarmac

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top