IMPORTANT INFORMATION COVID-19: Read the RIBA’s latest advice and information. | Website terms of use and cookie statement.

Seven buildings shortlisted for 2019 Welsh Architecture Awards

The Royal Society of Architects in Wales is delighted to announce the seven buildings that have been shortlisted for the RSAW 2019 Welsh Architecture Awards.

01 April 2019

The Royal Society of Architects in Wales (RSAW) announced today that seven buildings have been shortlisted for the RSAW 2019 Welsh Architecture Awards - the first stage of the RIBA Awards 2019.

Silver How by Hall + Bednarczyk Architects © Simon Maxwell

Elinor Gray-Williams, chair of the RSAW 2019 jury said:

“There were 14 strong entries submitted this year, and it was encouraging to see such a wide and varied selection of project types, ranging from smaller scaled and highly bespoke domestic projects with big-thinking approaches, to highly complex and large scale education, office and arts centre projects. The care taken in executing the projects and the ambition promised within all schemes was highly impressive, so as a jury we had a tough job narrowing down the entries and agreeing to a shortlist. The RIBA’s increasing drive to foster a responsible and sustainable agenda across the UK meant some entries struggled to achieve the shortlist, and in recent times of budget restraints the jury also felt it appropriate to consider value in delivery.

Despite the challenges, the shortlisted schemes all present a high standard of design, with each representing something distinctly creative against similar precedent. Wales should be proud of all the buildings submitted this year.”

Canolfan S4C Yr Egin by BDP with Rural Office for Architecture © Craig Auckland

From the 14 entries submitted, the seven shortlisted buildings in Wales this year are:

Gweithdy, St Fagans National Museum of History by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios © Craig Auckland

All shortlisted buildings will now be assessed by a regional jury with the winning buildings announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 30 May at Cornerstone, Cardiff.

Several RIBA Special Awards will also be announced including the RIBA Sustainability Award sponsored by Michelmersh and RIBA Project Architect of the Year sponsored by Taylor Maxwell.

If successful, the Regional Award winners will be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize, the best new building of the year, will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings in July and the Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October.

If you are a member of the press require more information on the RSAW Welsh Architecture Awards shortlist (including access to images) then please email Mary Wrenn or Bethan Proctor.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top