IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

Seventeen projects shortlisted for 2023 RIBA South East Awards

A skate park and teaching facilities are among the 17 buildings shortlisted for the 2023 RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) South East Awards.

20 February 2023

Seventeen buildings, ranging from a skatepark to teaching facilities, have been shortlisted for the 2023 RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) South East Awards.  

F51 Sports Park by Hollaway Studio. Image: Hufton + Crow

The shortlisted projects are:  

Black Timber House by HAPA Architects. Image: Jim Stephenson

RIBA South East Jury Chair Neil MacWilliams, Architect at MICA Architects, said: 

“The shortlist provides an inspiring snapshot of architecture in the South East. A common theme evident throughout the shortlist is an examination of contemporary living in its many forms and a reflection on how we might live, play, learn and work in the future. The designs demonstrate considerable skill and care in responding to the needs of the clients, the context of their local communities and the need to build responsibly in the face of a climate crisis. The shortlisted designs are a testament to the tenacity of the clients and the ingenuity of the architects involved.” 

Bayside, Worthing by Allies and Morrison. Image: Tim Crocker

All shortlisted projects will be assessed by a regional jury, and the winning projects will be announced later this Spring.  

Regional Award winners are considered for several RIBA Special Awards including the RIBA Sustainability Award and the RIBA Building of the Year. 

Regional Award winners will also be considered for a highly coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in the Summer.   

The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will then be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning projects, and the Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October.  

The RIBA Small Project of the Year is sponsored by Gaggenau and RIBA Building of the Year is sponsored by EH Smith. The Sustainability Award is sponsored by Autodesk.

If you are a member of the press seeking more information on the RIBA South East Awards shortlist (including access to images) please email Eleanor Finlay.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top