Use of cookies
We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
Stephen Lawrence Prize 2017 shortlist

2017 Stephen Lawrence Prize shortlist revealed

07 September 2017

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (Thursday 7 September) announced the shortlist for the Stephen Lawrence Prize, which is now in its twentieth year.

Clockwise from top left: Wolfson Tree Management Centre by Invisible Studio © Andy Matthews; The Compound by BPN Architects © Tom Bird; Silver House by Hyde + Hyde Architects © David Schnabel; Houseboat by Mole Architects with Rebecca Granger Architects © Rory Gardiner; Peacock House by BHSF Architekten with Studio-P © Benedikt Redmann; Fallahogey Studio by McGarry-Moon Architects © Adam Currie.

Six projects have been shortlisted, including a converted factory art venue, a house mimicking an upturned ship’s hull and a forestry centre built from timber grown on site.

Established in 1998 in memory of Stephen Lawrence, who aspired to be an architect, the prize is supported by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation and rewards the best examples of projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million.

The 2017 shortlist is:

  • The Compound, Birmingham by BPN Architects
    Former textile factory turned into an art venue, a workshop and a client's home
  • Fallahogey Studio, Kilrea, Northern Ireland by McGarry-Moon Architects
    Studio space set within the garden of the architects’ award winning house
  • Houseboat, Poole, Dorset by Mole Architects with Rebecca Granger Architects
    A new nautical-inspired house overlooking Poole harbour
  • Peacock House, Aldeburgh, Suffolk by BHSF Architekten with Studio-P
    Suburban courtyard home complete with studio space for a private art collection
  • Silver House, Swansea, Wales by Hyde + Hyde Architects
    Concrete, timber and steel layered family home overlooking the Bristol Channel
  • Wolfson Tree Management Centre, Tetbury, Gloucestershire by Invisible Studio
    Twin timber buildings to house equipment and staff facilities at the National Arboretum

The winner of the 2017 Stephen Lawrence Prize will be announced at the RIBA Stirling Prize party on 31 October at the Roundhouse in Camden, London.

The Stephen Lawrence Prize judges are: Marco Goldschmied, RIBA Past President and Founder of the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, which established the Stephen Lawrence Prize in 1998; Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon, Doreen Lawrence CBE, mother of Stephen Lawrence; Taro Tsurata, Tsurata Architects, who won the 2016 Stephen Lawrence Prize; and Stephen Lawrence Scholarship recipient Stephanie Edwards, Barton Willmore.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information contact RIBA Press Office:
    +44 (0) 20 7580 5533
  2. Previous winners of the Stephen Lawrence Prize include House of Trace by Tsuruta Architects (2016); The Fishing Hut by Niall McLaughlin Architects (2015); House No 7 by Denizen Works (2014); Montpelier Community Nursery by AY Architects (2013); Kings Grove by Duggan Morris Architects (2012); and St Patrick's Primary School Library and Music Room by Coffey Architects (2011).
  3. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment.

    Follow @RIBA on Twitter for regular updates
  4. The Architects’ Journal is media partner for the RIBA Awards, including the Stephen Lawrence Prize. For more information on The Architects’ Journal visit

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top