IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

Twelve buildings shortlisted for RIBA North East Awards 2018

Twelve buildings have been shortlisted for RIBA North East (Royal Institute of British Architects) Awards 2018; the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at The Museum Gardens, York on Thursday 24 May.

21 March 2018

The buildings that have been shortlisted are:

  • Durham Cathedral Open Treasure by Purcell
  • Earl Grey House by Elliott Architects Ltd.
  • Hauxley Wildlife Discovery Centre by Brightblue Studio
  • Ouseburn Road by Miller Partnership Architects
  • Restoration and Regeneration of Roker Pier and Lighthouse by Beaumont Brown Architects LLP
  • St Andrew’s Road by Elliott Architects Ltd.
  • Student Central by Ryder Architecture
  • The Boiler House, Newcastle University by Howarth Litchfield Partnership
  • The Dell by Elliott Architects Ltd.
  • The Sill National Landscape Discovery Centre by Jane Darbyshire and David Kendall Ltd
  • Urban Sciences Building, Newcastle University by Hawkins\Brown with Ryder Architecture
  • YMCA North Tyneside by Grace Choi Architecture

Ouseburn House by Miller Partnership Architects © Jill Tate

RIBA North East Chair, Tim Bailey welcomed the news saying:

“I am really delighted that this RIBA Regional Awards shortlist by itself showcases the excellent breadth of architect's work in the North East. The inclusion of new build, conservation and refurbishment work, projects at large and small scales and in urban, suburban and rural settings illustrates the value and impact that great design can bring to any setting and all communities. It is a particular pleasure to see younger and emerging practices make the shortlist alongside some of the household names. Congratulations to all practices making the shortlist and look forward to seeing you at the Awards Evening in May.”

All shortlisted buildings will be assessed by a regional jury and the winning buildings will be announced at the RIBA North East Awards evening and reception on Thursday 24 May at The Museum Gardens, York. The event will be hosted by Harry Gration who presents ‘Look North’ on BBC One,Yorkshire.

Regional Award winners will be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize,the new best building of the year, will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings in July and the Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October.


Urban Sciences Building, Newcastle University by Hawkins\Brown with Ryder Architecture © Kristen McCluskie

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top