IMPORTANT INFORMATION COVID-19: Read the RIBA’s latest advice and information. | Website terms of use and cookie statement.

Twelve projects shortlisted for RIBA East Midlands 2019 Awards

15 March 2019

The twelve-strong line up of projects shortlisted for this year’s RIBA East Midlands Awards reflects a mix of the new and the historic including several conservation projects, as well as more contemporary interventions.

Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre, JDDK Architects © Sally-Ann Norman

RIBA East Midlands Chair, Sam Culling, said of the shortlist: “It’s fantastic to see 12 projects shortlisted for the RIBA East Midlands 2019 Awards. The quality and range of the schemes selected, including several by regionally-based practices, is testament to the exemplary standard of architecture that this region has to offer.”

Brackley Town Hall, Haverstock © Tom Pengilley

The projects in the running for an RIBA East Midlands Award are:

  • Brackley Town Hall, Northamptonshire, Haverstock
  • Confetti Campus, Nottingham, Allan Joyce Architects
  • Dancing Flowers of Doe Lea, Derbyshire, Tonkin Liu
  • Hannington Farm, Northamptonshire, James Gorst Architects Ltd
  • Heart for Hathersage, Derbyshire, Architect Studio Gedye with Ares
  • Nevill Holt Opera, Leicestershire, Witherford Watson Mann
  • Northampton International Academy, Architecture Initiative
  • Sherwood Forest Visitor Centre, Nottinghamshire, JDDK Architects
  • Stackyard, Derbyshire, James Boon Architects
  • Teaching and Learning Building, University of Nottingham, Make Architects
  • The Octagon - Pavilion Gardens, Buxton, Bench Architects
  • University of Northampton Learning Hub, MCW Architects

Stackyard, James Boon Architects © James Boon

All shortlisted projects will be assessed by a regional jury with the winning buildings announced at the RIBA East Midlands Awards evening and reception on Thursday 9 May at Nottingham Trent University.

Several RIBA Special Awards will also be announced including the RIBA Sustainability Award sponsored by Michelmersh and RIBA Project Architect of the Year sponsored by Taylor Maxwell.

Teaching and Learning Building, University of Nottingham, Make Architects © Martine Hamilton Knight

If successful, Regional Award winners will also be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize, the best new building of the year, will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings in July and the Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October.

If you are a member of the press and require more information regarding the RIBA East Midlands Awards shortlist (including access to images) then please email Lucy Grierson.

Nevill Holt Opera, Witherford Watson Mann © Hélène Binet

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top