Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

Twelve projects shortlisted for the RIBA West Midlands Awards 2017

The Royal Institute of British Architects has announced the shortlist for its annual West Midlands Regional Awards. These projects will be hoping to emulate the success of The Master’s House in Herefordshire, winners of the RIBA West Midlands Building of the Year 2016. Over the years the Awards have become the benchmark in identifying the very best standards in architecture across the West Midlands.

The twelve shortlisted buildings are:

  • Alan Walters Building, University of Birmingham by Berman Guedes Stretton
  • Compton Verney Chapel and Landscape Project in Warwickshire by Purcell
  • Croft Lodge Studio in Leominster by Kate Darby Architects and David Connor Design
  • Forum Health Centre in Coventry by IDP
  • Jaguar Land Rover Engine Manufacturing Centre in Wolverhampton by Arup
  • New Library, University of Birmingham by Associated Architects LLP
  • Remembrance Centre, National Memorial Arboretum in Alrewas by Glenn Howells Architects
  • St Michaels Hospice in Hereford by Architype
  • The Compound in Birmingham by BPN Architects
  • The Keyes Building in Worcester by Associated Architects LLP
  • The Oculus, University of Warwick by Berman Guedes Stretton
  • Writer's Coach House in Birmingham by Intervention Architecture

For over 50 years the RIBA awards and prizes have championed and celebrated the best architecture in the UK and around the world, no matter the form, size or budget. Successful projects may reflect changes and innovations in architecture, but at their core they display a commitment to designing and developing buildings and spaces for the improvement and enhancement of people’s lives.

Natalia Maximova, Chair of the Judging Panel commented:
“This year’s shortlist includes a healthy range of projects from a chapel restoration to a new car manufacturing centre, which demonstrates a high design standard across the sectors. There are some unusual takes on conservation, as well as unique building types. All are so different and all have merits worthy of a jury’s visit. The jury are now keen to meet the project teams and their clients – both well-known and newly-established names. Congratulations to them all for ensuring that the region’s architectural aspirations remain so strong.”

All shortlisted buildings will be assessed by a regional jury and the winners of RIBA West Midlands Awards will be announced on 15 May 2017 at a celebration evening at the Park Regis, Birmingham. The event is open for all to attend and more details can be found here. Regional winners will also be considered for a coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top