IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

Twenty three projects shortlisted for the 2023 RIBA South West Awards

A luxury treehouse, a former jail and a reconstruction of a Roman villa are among the 23 buildings shortlisted for the 2023 RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) South West Awards.

14 February 2023

Twenty three projects, ranging from a former prison to a reconstruction of a Roman villa, have been shortlisted for the 2023 RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) South West Awards.   

Blackbird by _andlyons architects with Hamish Herford. Image: James Brittain.

The shortlisted projects are:   

Cove Ridge by Coffey Architects. Image: Phil Coffey.

South West Jury Chair and Principal at McMahon Architecture, Louise McMahon said: 

“This year's wealth of shortlisted projects is a demonstration of the extremely high and exciting standard of architecture within the South West region.  Across all typologies the skill and ingenuity on show from both architects and clients is joyously evident; from inspiring community led regeneration projects, to creative repurposing of existing buildings and intriguing, finely detailed, interventions in the landscape. Sustainability is central to many projects, and it is heartening to see these principles playing such a prominent role in the design process." 

The Bodmin Jail Hotel and Visitor Attraction by Twelve Architects & Masterplanners. Image: Jack Hobhouse.

All shortlisted projects will be assessed by a regional jury, and the winning projects will be announced later this spring.  

Regional Award winners are considered for several RIBA Special Awards including the RIBA Sustainability Award and the RIBA Building of the Year. 

Regional Award winners will also be considered for a highly coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in the Summer.   

The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will then be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning projects, and the Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October.  

The RIBA Small Project of the Year is sponsored by Gaggenau and RIBA Building of the Year is sponsored by EH Smith. The Sustainability Award is sponsored by Autodesk.

If you are a member of the press seeking more information on the RIBA South West Awards shortlist (including access to images) please email Eleanor Finlay.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top