IMPORTANT INFORMATION Read the RIBA’s latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement
Talks and lectures

RIBA Gulf Chapter free webinar - Koichi Takada's NMOQ gift shop: An organic journey

The RIBA Gulf Chapter will host Koichi Takada who will present his beautiful and innovative project within the new National Museum of Qatar (NMOQ) to the online audience. He will also show some other projects designed by their office.

*This event will take place at:

11am GST (UAE)
10am KSA (Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar)
7am GMT (UK)
5pm AEST (Australia)


Koichi Takada will present his beautiful and innovative project within the new National Museum of Qatar (NMOQ) to an online audience. He will also show some other projects designed by their office. The free event will be hosted by the RIBA Gulf Chapter on Wednesday, 27 January 2021 at 11:00 AM (GST)

The audience will have the opportunity to ask questions at the end of the talk.

The Dahl Al Misfir (Cave of Light), located in the heart of Qatar, is a beautiful underground sanctuary formed largely from fibrous gypsum crystals that give off a faint, moon-like, phosphorescent glow. Inspired by Dahl Al Misfir, the National Museum of Qatar gift shops echoes Koichi Takada’s vision of bringing nature back into architecture, establishing relationships that connect people and nature through design.

The Museum Gift Shops are a culturally rich response to the National Museum of Qatar’s curatorial mission – heritage meets innovation. The intensity of the design and craftsmanship pays homage to Jean Nouvel's desert rose-inspired architecture and celebrates the natural Qatari heritage of the desert-scape.

About Koichi Takada

Koichi Takada belongs to a new generation of architects that strive to bring nature back into the urban environment — an approach he matured after living in cities of high urbanisation: Tokyo, New York, and London.

Koichi Takada Architects is a leading architecture practice that believes in enriching communities through organic design. They create value by delivering spaces that bring nature back into the urban environment.

Koichi leads the design of all Koichi Takada Architect projects, working closely with a team of 50 + passionate and highly skilled architects. His emphasis is on a connection to nature, on humanising and naturalising the urban environment, each project embodying his commitment to organic form and consideration for human experience and the natural environment. Through a series of award-winning designs, the growing practice is gaining an international reputation and is about to change the skylines of Sydney, Brisbane, Tokyo, China, Los Angeles and Mexico City.