IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA Council elections 2021

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (6 August 2021) announced the results of the RIBA Council Elections 2021. All appointments announced today will commence on 1 September 2021.

I, Graham Devine, being the Returning Officer for the RIBA 2021 elections, hereby give notice of candidates Elected using the Single Transferable Vote.

Vice-President Membership

Tom Foggin has been elected to the role of Vice-President Membership for a two-year term

Independent scrutineers' election reports

Two council seats

The following Chartered Members have been elected to serve on the RIBA Council for a three-year term

  • Joanna Bacon
  • Sumita Singha

Independent scrutineers' election reports

Regionally Elected Council Seats, uncontested

The following Chartered Members take uncontested seats as Regional Council Members for a three-year term

  • Graeme Dodd – RIBA North East
  • Julian Baker – RIBA North West
  • Chithra Marsh – RIBA North West
  • Graham Boyce– RIBA Yorkshire
  • Ryan Stuckey – RSAW


Associate Member

Stephen Drew takes the uncontested seat for a term of up to one year.

Regionally elected council seat – RIAS South

Kerr Robertson takes the uncontested seat for a term of up to two years.

RIBA International Members – 2020 elections voting error

In 2020, we made an error in our Council Election process. While international members were able to vote for the two available international seats, they were not able to do so for the two available UK national seats. We want to apologise to all RIBA International Members for this temporary oversight and confirm that voting rights were reviewed and fully reinstated for the 2021 elections. We remain committed to ensuring all members have a voice and are represented.

keyboard_arrow_up To top