Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

​RIBA Awards timetable

2019 Key dates

RIBA Awards 2019 (UK) entry open
12 December 2018 to 21 February 2019

RIBA Awards (UK) visits
February to April 2019

RIBA Regional Awards announced
May 2019

RIBA National Awards announced
June 2019

RIBA House of the Year longlist announced
June 2019

RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist announced
July 2019

RIBA International Awards (for 2020) entry open
July 2019

Stephen Lawrence Prize and Client of the Year shortlists announced
September 2019

Royal Gold Medal and RIBA Fellowships announced
September 2019

RIBA Stirling Prize ceremony
October 2019

RIBA House of the Year shortlist and winner announced
November 2019

RIBA Awards 2020 (UK) entries open
10 December 2019 to 25 February 2020

International Awards for Excellence visits March to April 2020

International Awards for Excellence announced May 2020

International Emerging Architect Prize announced June 2020

International Prize visits July 2020  

International Prize shortlist announced September 2020 

International Prize announced November 2020

RIBA Awards and Prizes

We offer a range of prizes and awards for architects, buildings and clients in the UK and internationally.

UK – Regional

RIBA Regional Awards
A RIBA Regional Award is given to a UK project for its regional importance as a piece of architecture. Winners of regional awards are also eligible for the special awards below.

Regional Conservation Award
Conservation architects are encouraged to enter the RIBA awards with buildings or significant structures. All entries will be considered by a panel including an conservation specialist. Judges understand that every act of conservation, from restoration to the sensitive addition to an old building, involves design decisions, so every good conservation scheme is eligible for an RIBA regional award. The best conservation regional award-winning schemes will be considered for regional Conservation Awards. The project should respect and enhance the original building, but also have regard to the wider context. Buildings will demonstrate at least one of the following: creative repair and conservation, adaptive re-use of historic buildings, refurbishment and regeneration. Projects may also demonstrate an understanding of and give reference to the vernacular traditions and materials of their locality.

Regional Project Architect of the Year
Awarded to the qualified architect who led an award-winning project and made key and demonstrable contributions to its success.

Regional Client of the Year
Rewards the client’s demonstrable commitment to procuring and achieving quality architecture.

Regional Small Project of the Year
Given to projects with budgets less than £500,000 the winning project should demonstrate creativity and architectural merit within the limits of its budget.

Regional Sustainability Award
Rewards projects that go beyond statutory requirements and demonstrate elegantly and durably the principles of sustainable architecture.

Regional Building of the Year
Given to the project that best demonstrates architectural excellence while contributing positively to its economic, social, environmental and cultural context and has made a significant contribution to the practice of architecture in its local context.

UK – National

RIBA National Awards
A RIBA National Award is given to a building for its national significance and its contribution to architecture in the UK. Awarded to the buildings that set national standards for good architecture, successful projects should demonstrate design excellence, be fit for purpose and be sustainable. Only projects that have already won an RIBA Regional Award will be eligible for an RIBA National Award. RIBA National Award winners will be considered for the RIBA Stirling Prize.

RIBA House of the Year
Awarded to the best example of a one-off house designed by an architect in the UK, the award celebrates excellence and innovation in home design.

Stephen Lawrence Prize, supported by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation
The annual prize, which rewards the best examples of projects that have a construction budget of less than £1 million, is intended to encourage fresh talent working with smaller budgets. Whilst continuing to recognise the overriding importance of design, the jury will also attach high importance to the role of architects under 40 in the shortlisted projects, whether working as principals or as project leaders in a more established practice.

RIBA Client of the Year, supported by the Ibstock plc
This award honours the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture. The RIBA Client of the Year consistently champions innovation in architecture and gives inspiration to the design team. They demonstrate an active involvement within the design process, displaying creativity, vision and courage.

RIBA Stirling Prize, sponsored by Almacantar
The most prestigious of our UK awards, The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to a building considered the most significant for the evolution of architecture in the UK.


Our global architecture awards champion buildings that change the world. Awarded to any building worldwide (outside the UK) these awards set a new global standard for architecture and are open to any qualified architect.

RIBA Awards for International Excellence
The pre-eminent awards for architecture outside the UK, recognising and promoting design innovation, sustainable technologies and meaningful social impact. Given to buildings worldwide that stretch the boundaries of architecture and standards of excellence, as judged by a range of high-profile international juries. Winners of these awards are considered for the RIBA International Prize.

RIBA International Emerging Architect Prize
This prize recognises international emerging talent of those who have been practising for ten years or less and are making a significant contribution to the field of architecture. Our Emerging Architect Jury, all innovators themselves in the fields of architecture and design are looking for the future pioneers and luminaries of the profession.

RIBA International Prize
The pinnacle of the RIBA International Awards, the prize is awarded to the project which demonstrates visionary, innovative thinking, and design excellence whilst making a distinct contribution for its users and within its physical context- be it the public realm, the natural environment or both. Awarded by the Grand Jury to the building considered to be the most significant and inspirational globally of the year.

The prize re-affirms the visionary purpose of the RIBA as stated in its 1837 charter: “for the general advancement of Civil Architecture.”

Only buildings that have won an RIBA Award for International Excellence will be eligible for the RIBA International Prize.

keyboard_arrow_up To top