RIBA International and Honorary Fellows 2018

RIBA International Fellowships

The RIBA has throughout its history honoured men and women who have made a major contribution to the world of design and in particular architecture.

Any architect outside the United Kingdom who is not a UK citizen, and who has a demonstrable interest in the objectives of the Royal Institute and exhibits distinction and breadth of contribution to architecture, may be elected an International Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects.

The lifetime honour, conferred annually, allows recipients to use the suffix Int FRIBA. 

Prior to 2006, these were Elected Honorary Fellows. In 2006, with the creation of the new honour, all architect Honorary Fellows, including non-UK surviving Royal Gold Medallists, were made RIBA International Fellows.

The 2018 International Fellows come from eleven different countries. Their work represents not only the spirit of their homelands but also transcends it to become truly international in its reference and influence.

2018 International Fellows 

 2018 RIBA International Fellows

From left to right, top to bottom.

  • Farrokh Derakhshani - AGA KHAN Award for Architecture, Switzerland/Iran
  •  Jeanne Gang -  Studio Gang, USA
  •  Antonio Gonzalez-Capitel  - Antonio Capitel, Spain
  •  Andreas Heller – Studio Andreas Heller Architects & Designers, Germany 
  • Sebastian Irarrazaval – Sebastian Irarrazaval Arquitectos, Chile
  • John Lin – Rural Urban Framework, Taiwan/China
  • Willem Jan Neutelings and Michiel Riedijk - Neutelings Riedijk Architects, Netherlands
  • Shane O'Toole - Architectural Critic, Ireland
  • José Maria Sanchez Garcia  - José Maria Sanchez Garcia, Spain

RIBA Honorary Fellowships

RIBA Honorary Fellowships reward the contributions people have made to architecture in its broadest sense: its promotion, administration and outreach; its role in building more sustainable communities, and its role in the education of future generations.

The lifetime honour, conferred annually, allows recipients to use the suffix Hon FRIBA.

Those honoured have contributed greatly towards architecture, be they practitioners, commentators or teachers. In their different ways, they have helped to improve the quality of design and influence the delivery of the built environment in a sustainable and creative way.

2018 Honorary Fellows

RIBA Honorary Fellows 2018

From left to right, top to bottom.

  • Maria Balshaw – Director of Tate
  • Pablo Bronstein  –  Artist
  • Dinah Casson  – Designer
  • Evan Davis  – BBC Presenter
  • Ian Firth  – Structural and Civil Engineer
  • Hattie Hartman – Journalist
  • Catherine Ince - Senior Curator at the Victoria and Albert Museum
  • Wasfi Kani  - Grange Park Opera’s founder and chief executive
  • Dr Tia Kansara - Economist, consultant
  • Sadiq Khan – Mayor of London
  • Ruth Lande Shuman - Founder and President of Publicolor, Industrial Designer
  • Robert Powell  - Former Creative Director of Beam, Author and Poet
  • Tom Stuart-Smith - Landscape Design
  • Tamsie Thomson -  Director of the London Festival of Architecture


keyboard_arrow_up To top