IMPORTANT INFORMATION COVID-19: Read the RIBA’s latest advice and information. | Website terms of use and cookie statement.

RIBA Honorary Fellows

RIBA Honorary Fellows 2021

RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who are not architects but have made a significant contribution to architecture. This includes individuals who have advanced architecture's role in creating more sustainable communities, those involved in its promotion and management, and those who nurture the interests of future generations.

The lifetime honour, conferred annually, allows recipients to use the suffix Hon FRIBA.

Those honoured have contributed greatly towards architecture, be they practitioners, commentators or educators. In their different ways, they have helped to improve the quality of design and influence the delivery of the built environment in a sustainable and creative way.

"Being an RIBA Honorary Fellow is very special to me - as CEO of the Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust, one of our primary objectives is to break down the barriers to a rewarding career in the built environment. This is absolutely vital if we are to create the spaces and places that are valued by all of society, not just the few. The RIBA Honorary Fellowship provides me with a unique platform to drive forward our work as a respected voice for transformation, honoured by the premier membership organisation in the world." - Sonia Watson OBE, Chief Executive, Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust and RIBA Honorary Fellow 2017

See the full list of RIBA Honorary Fellows.

Meet the RIBA Honours Committee 2021

The Honours Committee considers the nominations for the RIBA Royal Gold Medal and RIBA Honorary Fellowships.

keyboard_arrow_up To top