IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA International Awards 2016

UTEC - photograph by Iwan Baan

RIBA International Prize 2016

Awarded to the most transformative building which demonstrates visionary, innovative thinking, excellence of execution, and makes a distinct contribution to its users and physical context.

RIBA International Prize 2016 winner: UTEC - Universidad de Ingeniería y Technología Lima, Peru

The Universidad de Ingeniería y Tecnología (UTEC) in Lima, designed by Grafton Architects, has won the first ever RIBA International Award. Setting a new global standard for architectural achievement, the Royal Institute of British Architects’ prize has been judged by a grand jury chaired by world-renowned architect, Richard Rogers.

The RIBA International Award is awarded every two years to a building that exemplifies design excellence and architectural ambition and delivers meaningful social impact. It is one of the world’s most rigorously judged architecture awards, with every shortlisted building visited by a group of international experts. Awarded by the Grand Jury to the building considered to be the most significant and inspirational globally of the year.

RIBA International Award 2016 shortlist

The six finalists for the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) International Award 2016 have been announced. The buildings will now be visited by the Grand Jury of the award before the winner is announced on Thursday 24 November 2016. The selection follows a rigorous judging process which saw the RIBA awards committee travel to 30 buildings across five continents before choosing six buildings to be visited again in November. Setting a new global standard for architectural achievement, the prize will be judged by a grand jury of experts chaired by world-renowned architect, Lord Richard Rogers of Riverside. Projects demonstrate a range of innovative responses to the role of public architecture, providing major new additions to their contexts and communities.

The Grand Jury

Richard Rogers, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

Billie Tsien, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners

Kunlé Adeyemi, NLÉ

Marilyn Jordan Taylor, Former Dean & Paley Professor, UPENN

Philip Gumuchdjian, Gumuchdjian Architects

RIBA Awards for International Excellence

The RIBA International Prize is awarded to the most transformative building which demonstrates visionary, innovative thinking, excellence of execution, and makes a distinct contribution to its users and physical context. Unlike any previous RIBA award for architecture, the RIBA International Prize is open to any qualified architect in the world. In recognition of the quality of the entries on the longlist, the committee has named 21 recipients of an RIBA Award for International Excellence.

angdong hospital rural urban framework

Angdong Hospital

by Rural Urban Framework for Harvest Institute for Integrated Rural Development, Baojing County, China


Arquipelago - Contemporary Arts Center

​by Menos É Mais, Arquitectos Associados with João Mendes Ribeiro Arquitecto for Direcção Regional de Cultura dos Açores (Drac), winning RIBA Award for International Excellence

buenos aires ciudad casa de gobierno

Buenos Aires Ciudad Casa de Gobierno

by Foster + Partners with Berdichevsky Cherny Arquitectos & StudioMinond for CRIBA S.A., Buenos Aires, Argentina

dlr Lexicon by Ros Kavanagh

DLR Lexicon

by carr cotter naessens for Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council, Dublin, Ireland

Europaallee baufeld e

Europaallee Baufeld e

by Caruso St John Architects with Bosshard Vaquer Architekten for Schweizerische Bundesbahnen SBB, Zurich, Switzerland

European hansemuseum werner huthmacher

European Hansemuseum

by Studio Andreas Heller Architects & Designers for Europäisches Hansemuseum Lübeck Ggmbh, Germany

fine arts museum of asturias pedro pegenaute

Fine Arts Museum of Astrurias

by Francisco Mangado - Mangado y Asociados for Principado de Asturias, Oviedo, Spain

fulton centre james ewing

Fulton Center

by Grimshaw, HDR and Page Ayres Cowley Architects for Metropolitan Transportation Authority – New York City Transit, USA

heydar aliyev center - hufton and crow

Heydar Aliyev Center

​​by Zaha Hadid Architects with Dia Holding for the Republic of Azerbaijan, winning RIBA Award for International Excellence

invisible house michael nicholson

Invisible House

Peter Stutchbury Architecture for Private Client, Hampton, Australia

jockey club innovation tower iwan baan

Jockey Club Innovation Tower

by Zaha Hadid Architects for the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Kowloon, Hong Kong

museuo jumex - simon menges

Museo Jumex

by David Chipperfield Architects with Taller Abierto de Arquitectura y Urbanismo for Colección Júmex, winning RIBA Award for International Excellence

oita prefecture art museum hiroyuki hirai

Oita Prefecture Art Museum

by Shigeru Ban Architects for Oita Prefecture Art Museum, Oita, Japan

public library of constitution felipe diaz

Public Library of Constitucion

by Sebastian Irarrazaval Arquitectos for Fundacion La Fuente, Constitucion, Chile

saint louise art museum aaron dougherty

Saint Louis Art Museum

David Chipperfield Architects with HOK for Saint Louis Art Museum, St. Louis, USA

sky terrace aaron pocock

Sky Terrace

by SCDA Architects Pte Ltd for Housing & Development Board (Hdb), Singapore

st angelas college cork alice clancy

St Angela's College Cork

by O'Donnell + Tuomey for St. Angela's College, Cork, Ireland

stormen - david grandorge


by DRDH Architects for Bodø Kommune, winning RIBA Award for International Excellence

the ring of remembrance international wwi memorial - aitor ortiz

The Ring of Remembrance

by Agence D’architecture Philippe Prost (AAAPP) for Conseil Regional Nord-Pas-De-Calais, winning RIBA Award for International Excellence

tula house james dow

Tula House

by Patkau Architects for Private Client, Heriot Bay, Quadra Island, Canada

UTEC - Iwan Baan


​by Grafton Architects with Shell Arquitectos for Universidad de Ingeniería y Tecnología, winning RIBA International Prize and RIBA Award for International Excellence

keyboard_arrow_up To top