Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

​RIBA CPD Core Curriculum

The RIBA has updated the ten mandatory RIBA CPD Core Curriculum topics in response to the skills our members need to practise architecture now and in the future.

The revised topics will help members maintain competence, acquire new skills, contend with disruption, future-proof themselves and their businesses, and deliver socially purposeful architecture.

While all chartered members are expected to attain at least two hours in each of the ten topics yearly, there is huge flexibility in how you meet that obligation. CPD does not mean solely seminars and courses, or what the RIBA can provide. You can do CPD in countless ways, many self-directed and informal. While the RIBA can help you with your learning needs, CPD from any source is valid.

The new curriculum is accompanied by an extensive CPD primer which provides context for each of the ten topics. It acts as a suggested framework of target issues for each topic. While the primer is comprehensive, it is not exclusive; you are encouraged to engage with the topics in a way which best suits your needs.

The ten new or revised topics, which will be fully mandatory by the end of 2018, are:

  • Architecture for social purpose (new topic)
  • Health, safety and wellbeing
  • Business, clients and services
  • Legal, regulatory and statutory compliance
  • Procurement and contracts (same title as previous curriculum)
  • Sustainable architecture
  • Inclusive environments
  • Places, planning and communities
  • Building conservation and heritage
  • Design, construction and technology

RIBA Chartered Members are obliged to attain at least two hours in each of the ten topics every year. For further information and advice contact

The previous topics, which will be phased out in 2018, are:

  • Being safe – health and safety
  • Climate – sustainable architecture
  • External management – clients, users and delivery of services
  • Internal management – professionalism, practice, business and management
  • Compliance – legal, regulatory and statutory framework and processes
  • Procurement and contracts
  • Designing and building it – structural design, construction, technology and engineering
  • Where people live – communities, urban and rural design and the planning process
  • Context – the historic environment and its setting
  • Access for all – universal or inclusive design.

keyboard_arrow_up To top