Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

RIBA Annie Spink Award architecture teaching

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is inviting nominations for the 2016 Annie Spink Award for outstanding contribution to architectural education.

The award is funded by the Annie Spink Trust Fund, bequeathed to the RIBA in 1974 by architect Herbert Spink FRIBA as a lasting memorial to his late wife Annie and as an honour for the advancement of architectural education.

Past winners of the Annie Spink Award include Florian Beigel, Nigel Coates, Peter Cook, David Greene, Dean Hawkes, Andrew MacMillan, Isi Metzstein, Wolf Prix, Peter Salter, Dalibor Vesely, and Elia Zenghelis.

The biennial award is open to individuals or groups teaching in a school that offers RIBA validated courses in the UK or internationally.

Nominees must have made a substantial contribution to architectural education over a number of years, be involved in the development of architectural education and be directly engaged in the processes of teaching and learning.

Deadline for nominations: 5pm, Thursday 15 September 2016.

Winners of the award receive the Annie Spink trophy and £10,000. The President of the RIBA will present the Annie Spink award at a ceremony at the RIBA in London on 6 December 2016.

On the judging panel are:

  • Chair: Professor David Gloster – RIBA Director of Education
  • Alan Jones – RIBA Vice President Education; Director of Education Architecture) at Queen’s University Belfast
  • Zeno Bogdanescu – Professor of Architecture at the Ion Mincu University of Architecture and Urbanism, Romania
  • Susannah Hagan – Professor of Architecture at the University of Westminster; Director of R/E/D – Research into Environment + Design
  • Basmah Kaki – RIBA Bronze Medallist 2011; Founding partner of Studio Bound; Director and tutor of the Architectural Association Visiting School Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • Alan Penn – Professor in Architectural and Urban Computing; Dean of the Bartlett Faculty of the Built Environment (UCL)

RIBA President Jane Duncan will present the winner with the Annie Spink trophy and £10,000 prize at a ceremony at the RIBA in London on 6 December 2016.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information contact Callum Reilly in the RIBA Press Office: 020 7307 3757
  2. For more information about the nomination process, visit
  3. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members Follow us on Twitter for regular RIBA updates

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top