IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

Twelve projects shortlisted for RIBA West Midlands Awards 2024

The reinvention of the Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings, conversion of a reservoir building into a family home and the reordering of a church are among 12 projects shortlisted for the RIBA West Midlands Awards 2024.

23 February 2024

The reinvention of the Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings into a social enterprise, conversion of a derelict reservoir building into a sustainable family home, and the reordering of a church are among 12 projects shortlisted for the RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) West Midlands Awards 2024.

Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios. Image: Daniel Hopkinson

The projects that have been shortlisted are:

RIBA West Midlands Jury Chair Jessica Barker, Co-Founder and Director of Stolon Studio, said:

“The range of schemes exhibit ambition and a growing interest in low-energy and regenerative design to increase accessibility and future-proof our buildings for generations to come. 

“From museums to converted maltings, remote rural one-off homes and a scientific research centre, the shortlisted projects demonstrate an appetite for sustainability and growing interest in a fabric-first approach, coupled with a respect for the surrounding agricultural heritage which characterises the West Midlands. 

“They showcase the positive potential for architecture to build community cohesion, local pride, belonging and greater engagement in our shared, industrial history.” 

Manresa House by OMI Architects. Image: Paul Karalius

All projects shortlisted for RIBA Regional Awards will be visited by a regional jury, and the winning projects will be announced later this spring. Check back throughout this period for shortlist publications.

The winners will then be considered for several RIBA Special Awards, including the RIBA Sustainability Award (sponsored by Autodesk) and RIBA Building of the Year (sponsored by EH Smith), before being considered for a highly coveted RIBA National Award, which will be announced in summer.

The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize – the UK’s best new building – will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning projects, and announced in September. The Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October. 

St Richard's Hospice by Associated Architects. Image: Tom Bird
Cwm Barn by Arbor Architects. Image: Ellen Hancock

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top