Use of cookies
We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
RIBA Council elections

​RIBA Council elections 2017

Help shape the future of the architecture profession.

Make your voice heard by casting your vote.


The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (28 July) announced the results of the RIBA Council elections 2017. All RIBA Council appointments announced today will commence on 1 September 2017.

Council Members were elected using the Single Transferable Vote. The candidates who reached the required quota and were therefore elected are:

The following chartered members were elected as National Council Members:

  • Flora Samuel
  • John Assael
  • Jason Bill
  • Patrick Lynch
  • Simone de Gale
  • Yemi Aladerun

The following chartered members were elected as London Regional Council Members:

  • Alia Beyg Javed
  • Christopher Hampson
  • Debbie Flevotomou
  • Indy Johar
  • Lanre Gbolade
  • Michael Martin
  • Stephanie Edwards
  • Wendy Charlton

The following chartered members were elected as International Council Members:

  • Alice Asafu-Adjaye – Middle East and Africa
  • Catherine Davis – Americas
  • Roger Tsan-Sum Wu – Asia and Australasia

Abigail Patel was elected as a Student Member of Council.

Jordan Saul Bizzell’s candidacy has been withdrawn due to eligibility. The votes cast in his favour were redistributed to the other candidates according to the standards of the Single Transferable Vote, as follows:

Any first preferences expressed in favour of the excluded candidate were disregarded and the second expressed preference was treated as the voter’s first preference. The same rule applied to any second and third preferences for the excluded candidate, whereby the next expressed selection was be applied.

The following chartered members take uncontested seats as Regional Council Members:

  • Andrew Bourne – Wessex
  • Nick Mills – Wessex
  • Anthony Lloyd – West Midlands
  • Graham Devine – South West
  • John Wilde – South West
  • Kerr Robertson - Scotland South

Selasi Setufe takes the uncontested seat as Associate Member of Council.

The RIBA is governed by the RIBA Council, made up of 60 members elected from among the RIBA membership, the majority of whom are chartered architects. Council passes down detailed responsibility to the RIBA Board and main committees. Chaired by the President, Council meets four times annually and is ultimately responsible for the conduct and development of the Institute.

Election documents

Final Results - National
Final Results - Regional London
Final Results - International Americas
Final Results - International Asia and Australasia
Final Results - International Middle East and Africa
Final Results - Student Member

Election to the office of Vice President Membership, for two years starting on 1 September 2017

Albena Atanassova
Michael Goode
Valeria Passetti

Elected: Valeria Passetti
See the candidate's statement

keyboard_arrow_up To top