IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA Council Elections 2019

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (29 July) announced the results of the Council elections 2019. All appointments announced today will commence on 1 September 2019.

Members were elected using the Single Transferable Vote. The candidates who reached the required quota and were therefore elected are:

Vice-President Membership

Valeria Passetti has been elected to the role of Vice-President Membership for a two-year term

Election statement

Nationally Elected, two seats

The following Chartered Members have been elected to serve on the RIBA Council for a three-year term

  • Alfred Munkenbeck
  • Maria Smith 

Election statements

Student Members, two seats

The following Student Members have been elected to serve for a term of up to three years

  • Victoria Adegoke
  • Maryam Al-Irhayim

Election statements

Regionally Elected, uncontested

The following Chartered Members take uncontested seats as Regional Council Members for a three-year term

  • Fraser Middleton – RIAS North
  • Jane Larmour – RSUA
  • Andrew Claiborne – East
  • Jonathan Greenfield – East
  • Mark Benzie – South 
  • Mark Shipton - South

Election statements

Associate Member, one seat

Lewis North takes the uncontested seat as Associate Member for a term of up to three years.

Election statement

Independent scrutineers' election reports

The RIBA Council is formed of members for members. This is your opportunity to take an active role and contribute to the future of your Institute. Be Represented by choosing to vote in the elections.

The RIBA is governed by the RIBA Council, elected from among the RIBA membership, the majority of whom are Chartered architects.

Council passes down detailed responsibility to the RIBA Board and main committees. Chaired by the President, Council meets four times annually and is ultimately responsible for the conduct and development of the Institute.

Members of Council are Charity Trustees of the RIBA. Please consult the Guidance Note for Charity Trustees.

keyboard_arrow_up To top