RIBA Client of the Year 2019

London Bridge

Network Rail wins RIBA Client of the Year 2019

The RIBA Client of the Year award honours the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture

Network Rail have been named RIBA Client of the Year 2019. The annual award recognises “the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture.”

Since its foundation in 2002, Network Rail has been responsible for a significant number of RIBA award-winning projects in Manchester and London, connecting people throughout the UK.

Network Rail’s RIBA Award winning projects include: Manchester Piccadilly Station by BDP (2003), St Pancras International by Foster + Partners (2008), Blackfriars Station by Pascall+Watson (2013), King’s Cross Station by John McAslan + Partners (2014), and King’s Cross Square by Stanton Williams (2015).

In 2019 their award-winning projects included Hackney Wick Station, with London Legacy Development Corporation, by Landolt + Brown; London Bridge Station by Grimshaw; and Ordsall Chord in Manchester by BDP.

Jo Bacon, Chair of the RIBA Client of the Year jury, said:

“Network Rail have made considerable investment in projects to transform rail infrastructure across the UK. With their incredible record of commissioning RIBA chartered architects and their commitment to the creation of high-quality civic spaces, Network Rail is a worthy winner of the 2019 RIBA Client of the Year.”

Banner photo by Paul Raftery

Sponsored by

Client of the Year 2019 jury

The 2019 RIBA Client of the Year was judged by Jo Bacon, Allies and Morrison and Jo van Heyningen, van Heyningen and Haward Architects.

2013 - National Trust

2012 - The Olympic Delivery Authority (ODA)

2011 - The Royal Shakespeare Company

2010 - Hammerson

2009 - Kielder Partnership, Camden & Islington Community Solutions, Parabola Land, 
Grosvenor, Maggie's and The Reverend Nicholas Holtam

2008 - Coin Street Community Builders

2007 - Derwent London

2006 - Royal Botanic Gardens

2005 - Gateshead Council

2004 - Peabody Trust

2003 - City of Manchester

2002 - Urban Splash

2001 - Molendinar Park Housing Association, Glasgow

2000 - Foreign & Commonwealth Office

1999 - Marylebone Cricket Club

1998 - Roland Paoletti

keyboard_arrow_up To top