IMPORTANT INFORMATION Read the RIBA’s latest COVID-19 advice and information. | Website terms of use and cookie statement.

RIBA President's Awards for Research

RIBA President's Medals for Research now open for submissions

The RIBA is now welcoming entries for the President’s Awards for Research 2020, which includes the RIBA President’s Medal for Research.

We invite all those conducting research related to architecture and the built environment to submit work that has been completed after 1 January 2019. We welcome individual efforts and encourage collaborative projects between academia, architectural practice and other related disciplines, as well as from professionals and students across the construction industry. This year, we are inviting submissions from both published and unpublished sources, completed after 1 January 2019.

Award winners and their research will gain exposure to a considerable audience through RIBA media releases, publications and events. All abstracts will be published in the 2020 Book of Abstracts and the winners of each category will have their papers published in the Journal of Architecture in 2020 (subject to editorial review). The best of the category winners will be awarded the RIBA President’s Medal for Research.

This year’s annual theme is Designing for Climate Change and we invite all researchers investigating issues related to this and the built environment to submit their latest work. We are especially interested in submissions that complement the RIBA 2030 Climate Challenge and concern carbon net zero buildings, retrofit, embodied carbon and post occupancy evaluation.

This year's submissions categories are:

  • Annual theme: Designing for Climate Change
  • Design and Technical
  • Cities and Community
  • History and Theory

All applicants must read the submission guidelines. Submissions that follow the guidelines are more likely to be successful.

Please submit your entries online via the online submission form. Submissions close at midnight (BST) on 3 June 2020.

Submissions must be anonymised and consist of:

  • 300 word Abstract
  • 1,000 word Research Statement
  • 5,000 to 10,000 word Research Document (maximum of 12 images)

Submissions will be judged by a multi-disciplinary panel of judges against the following criteria:

  • Originality
  • Rigor
  • Communication
  • Impact

If you have any questions regarding the President’s Awards for Research, please contact the Education Department via or by telephone: +44 (0)20 7307 3714.

Contact us

For queries about the RIBA President's Awards for Research

keyboard_arrow_up To top