IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

Stephen Lawrence Prize

RIBA Awards graphic 2022

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2022

The Stephen Lawrence Prize rewards the best projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2022

The Stephen Lawrence Prize was established in 1998 in memory of Stephen Lawrence, a teenager who was on the road to becoming an architect when he was tragically murdered in a racist attack in 1993. Founded and supported by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, the prize is intended to encourage new architectural talent and award the best projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million.  

The seven projects shortlisted for the 2022 Stephen Lawrence Prize have now been announced.

The winner of the Stephen Lawrence Prize 2022 will be announced at the RIBA Stirling Prize ceremony on Thursday 13 October at RIBA HQ, 66 Portland Place, London. 


Stephen Lawrence Prize 2022 jury

The judges for the 2022 Stephen Lawrence Prize are:

  • Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Doreen Lawrence OBE
  • Matthew Goldschmied, Managing Trustee of the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, which established the Stephen Lawrence Prize in 1998
  • Mike Tonkin, Tonkin Liu, winner of the 2021 Stephen Lawrence Prize

Commenting on the shortlist, Matthew Goldschmied, Managing Trustee of the Marco Goldschmied Foundation and Jury Chair said:  

“I am honoured to chair the Stephen Lawrence Prize jury in place of my father, Marco Goldschmied, who was sadly unable to participate this year, and has since passed away.  

As a jury, we were seriously encouraged by the climate-conscious ethos that underpins so many of these small projects. From those that prioritise the re-use and adaptation of existing buildings and historic structures, to those that experiment with materials and technologies to meet low-carbon ambitions.     

We were also delighted to select three projects that focus so heavily on fostering community: projects that create vibrant spaces and connections for both new and established communities and demonstrate the power of architecture to lift spirits and enhance lives.    

My father launched this prize in 1998 with the intention of rewarding new architectural talent, and it has since evolved into a celebration of schemes that show the possibilities of innovative design on modest budgets. Before he passed away, I had a chance to discuss this year’s shortlisted projects with him; he was smiling and nodding with great satisfaction throughout. He delighted in the selection process, the variety of design expression, the visits and the award night. Above all, he cherished the people alongside whom he founded the Stephen Lawrence Prize, and those who were embraced into its community.  

I am confident he would be proud both of the emerging practices we see here, and the talent and ingenuity embodied in these seven truly unique schemes.”  



2014 - House No.7, Isle of Tree by Denizen Works

2013 - Montpelier Community Nursery, London by AY Architects

2012 - King’s Grove, London by Duggan Morris Architects

2011 - St Patrick’s School Library and Music Room, London by Coffey Architects

2010 - Artists’ House, London by Gumuchdjian Architects

2009 - El Ray, Dungeness by Simon Conder Associates

2008 - The Sackler Crossing, London by John Pawson

2007 - Wooda Auditorium, Cornwall by David Sheppard Architects

2006 - Wrap House, London by Alison Brooks Architects

2005 - House, Clonakilty, by Níall McLaughlin Architects

2004 - Vista, Dungeness by Simon Conder Associates

2003 - Think Tank, Skibbereen by Gumuchdjian Architects

2002 - Westborough Cardboard Building, Westcliff-on-Sea by Cottrell & Vermeulen

2001 - Hatherley Studio, Winchester by Richard Rose-Casemore

2000 - Kielder Belvedere, Northumberland by Softroom

1999 - Roche Court Sculpture Gallery, Wiltshire by Munkenbeck + Marshall

1998 - Terrasson, France by Ian Ritchie Architects

keyboard_arrow_up To top