IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2018

​​Old Shed New House by Tonkin Liu

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2018

The Stephen Lawrence Prize rewards the best projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2018 winner: Old Shed New House

Old Shed New House, the radical transformation of a farm shed into a sustainable new home designed by Tonkin Liu Architects, has won the 2018 Stephen Lawrence Prize.

The Stephen Lawrence Prize aims to encourage new, experimental architectural talent, celebrating and rewarding projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million.

First awarded in 1998 in memory of Stephen Lawrence, who was taking steps to become an architect before his untimely death in 1993, the £5,000 Prize has been sponsored by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation since its inception.

After several years looking for a tranquil site in a rural setting for their retirement property, the homeowners settled on a disused agricultural shed in North Yorkshire and worked with their son, Greg Storrar, as the project architect. The farm shed has been dramatically remodelled into an exquisitely detailed, highly sustainable and cost-effective home.

The modest 3-bedroomed property, includes a vast library space at its heart - housing a lifetime’s collection of books - and uses traditional construction techniques and low-cost materials throughout.

Stephen Lawrence Prize past winners

2015 - Fishing Hut, by Níall McLaughlin Architects

2014 - House No.7, Isle of Tree by Denizen Works

2013 - Montpelier Community Nursery, London by AY Architects

2012 - King’s Grove, London by Duggan Morris Architects

2011 - St Patrick’s School Library and Music Room, London by Coffey Architects

2010 - Artists’ House, London by Gumuchdjian Architects

2009 - El Ray, Dungeness by Simon Conder Associates

2008 - The Sackler Crossing, London by John Pawson

2007 - Wooda Auditorium, Cornwall by David Sheppard Architects

2006 - Wrap House, London by Alison Brooks Architects

2005 - House, Clonakilty, by Níall McLaughlin Architects

2004 - Vista, Dungeness by Simon Conder Associates

2003 - Think Tank, Skibbereen by Gumuchdjian Architects

2002 - Westborough Cardboard Building, Westcliff-on-Sea by Cottrell & Vermeulen

2001 - Hatherley Studio, Winchester by Richard Rose-Casemore

2000 - Kielder Belvedere, Northumberland by Softroom

1999 - Roche Court Sculpture Gallery, Wiltshire by Munkenbeck + Marshall

1998 - Terrasson, France by Ian Ritchie Architects

keyboard_arrow_up To top