IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2019

Cork House

Cork House wins 2019 Stephen Lawrence Prize

The Stephen Lawrence Prize rewards the best projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million

Cork House by Matthew Barnett Howland with Dido Milne and Oliver Wilton has been awarded the 2019 Stephen Lawrence Prize.

The Stephen Lawrence Prize rewards new, experimental architectural talent, celebrating projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million. The £5,000 prize has been sponsored by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation since it was first awarded in 1998, in memory of Stephen Lawrence, who was taking steps to become an architect before his untimely death.

Stephen Lawrence Prize founder Marco Goldschmied said: 

"Cork House is a unique fusion of ancient construction methods and cutting-edge technical research to produce a highly innovative, low carbon solution with a wide variety of applications from mass housing to emergency shelters. We are delighted to present Matthew Barnett Howland, Dido Milne and Oliver Wilton with the Stephen Lawrence Prize 2019.”

This year, Pocket House by Tikari Works also received a special mention and a £1,000 award from the judges.

Read more about Cork House.

Banner photo by Ricky Jones

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2019 jury

The judges for the 2019 Stephen Lawrence Prize were Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon, Doreen Lawrence OBE, the mother of Stephen Lawrence; Marco Goldschmied, RIBA Past President and Founder of the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, which established the Stephen Lawrence Prize in 1998, and Anna Liu, Tonkin Liu, who won the 2018 Stephen Lawrence Prize.

Stephen Lawrence Prize past winners

2015 - Fishing Hut, by Níall McLaughlin Architects

2014 - House No.7, Isle of Tree by Denizen Works

2013 - Montpelier Community Nursery, London by AY Architects

2012 - King’s Grove, London by Duggan Morris Architects

2011 - St Patrick’s School Library and Music Room, London by Coffey Architects

2010 - Artists’ House, London by Gumuchdjian Architects

2009 - El Ray, Dungeness by Simon Conder Associates

2008 - The Sackler Crossing, London by John Pawson

2007 - Wooda Auditorium, Cornwall by David Sheppard Architects

2006 - Wrap House, London by Alison Brooks Architects

2005 - House, Clonakilty, by Níall McLaughlin Architects

2004 - Vista, Dungeness by Simon Conder Associates

2003 - Think Tank, Skibbereen by Gumuchdjian Architects

2002 - Westborough Cardboard Building, Westcliff-on-Sea by Cottrell & Vermeulen

2001 - Hatherley Studio, Winchester by Richard Rose-Casemore

2000 - Kielder Belvedere, Northumberland by Softroom

1999 - Roche Court Sculpture Gallery, Wiltshire by Munkenbeck + Marshall

1998 - Terrasson, France by Ian Ritchie Architects