IMPORTANT INFORMATION COVID-19: Read the RIBA’s latest advice and information. | Website terms of use and cookie statement.

RIBA East Midlands Awards 2019 winners announced

10 May 2019

Eight East Midlands projects have won 2019 RIBA East Midlands Awards - including Nevill Holt Opera by Witherford Watson Mann, which scooped the RIBA East Midlands Building of the Year.

The winning projects were announced at a prestigious awards ceremony, hosted by BBC East Midlands Political Editor, Tony Roe, at Nottingham Trent University on Thursday 9 May.

The RIBA East Midlands Award winning projects are:

Nevill Holt Opera, RIBA East Midlands Building of the Year by Witherford Watson Mann © Hélène Binet

Regional Jury Chair, Colin McColl, said of this year’s Award winners:

“The jury was pleased to visit a variety of scales of architecture across the East Midlands and it was clear from these how clients and their architects had a deep passion for the buildings that were shortlisted.

On considered review of the awards criteria the jury felt that each winner, on their own merits, challenged and moved the regional debate forward as to how architecture and the process of rigorously delivered good design matters at all scales and should, positively influence individuals, organisations and entire communities.”

Special Awards went to:

  • Teaching and Learning Building, University of Nottingham - RIBA East Midlands Sustainability Award, sponsored by Michelmersh
  • Nevill Holt Opera - RIBA East Midlands Conservation Award
  • Dancing Flowers of Doe Lea - RIBA East Midlands Small Project Award
  • Hathersage Parish Council for Heart for Hathersage - RIBA East Midlands Client of the Year
  • Simon Gedye of Architect Studio Gedye for Heart for Hathersage - RIBA East Midlands Project Architect of the Year, sponsored by Taylor Maxwell
  • Nevill Holt Opera - RIBA East Midlands Building of the Year

RIBA East Midlands Award winners will also be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, which will be announced on Thursday 27 June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning projects later in the year.

RIBA East Midlands Student Awards were also awarded at Part 1 to Ross Burns from the University of Nottingham for The Isle of Awakening, and at Part 2 to Simon Green from De Montfort University, Leicester for Retired and Apprentice Steelworker Housing.

If you are a member of the press and require more information regarding the RIBA East Midlands Awards shortlist (including access to images) then please email Lucy Grierson.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top