IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA reveals shortlist for Stephen Lawrence Prize 2021

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today announced the shortlist for the Stephen Lawrence Prize 2021.

14 September 2021

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (Tuesday 14 September) announced the shortlist for the Stephen Lawrence Prize 2021.

Clockwise from top left with photographer credits: Chapel by Craftworks © Edmund Sumner; The Water Tower by Tonkin Liu © Dennis Pedersen; Walmer Castle and Gardens Learning Centre by Adam Richards Architects © Brotherton Lock; Wooden Roof by Tsuruta Architects © Ståle Eriksen; Floating Church by DENIZEN WORKS © Gilbert McCarragher; Maggie’s Cardiff by Dow Jones Architects © Anthony Coleman

The Prize was established in 1998 in memory of Stephen Lawrence, a teenager who was on the road to becoming an architect when he was tragically murdered in 1993. Supported and founded by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, the Prize is intended to encourage new architectural talent and award the best projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million. The winner will receive a bursary of £5,000.

The six shortlisted projects are:

A contemporary family home carved from a derelict chapel, with bold features including a pulpit-like mezzanine and towering fireplace.

A bespoke Art Deco-style narrowboat with kinetic pop-up roof to maximise space and function.

A clever, compact building that follows Passivhaus principles and carefully configures spaces to provide warmth and comfort to its visitors.

A historic steel water tower, restored and converted into a sustainable family home.

English Heritage site transformed into an engaging Learning Centre and café.

A unique timber conservatory constructed using traditional Japanese joinery techniques.

The 2021 Stephen Lawrence Prize jury comprised: Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Doreen Lawrence OBE; Past RIBA President and Founder of the Marco Goldschmied Foundation Marco Goldschmied; Founder of Mary Duggan Architects Mary Duggan; and winner of the 2019 Stephen Lawrence Prize and Director at CSK Architects Dido Milne.

Marco Goldschmied said:

“I am very pleased to announce the 2021 Stephen Lawrence Prize shortlist. It is an exceptional list of buildings including both new build and restoration projects. As always, the architect's originality and inventiveness shines through every one of the entries.

Due to Covid shielding precautions I will, for the first time in the 22 year history of the Prize, be delegating the chair of the visiting jury. Mary Duggan, a past winner of the Stephen Lawrence Prize, has kindly agreed to take my place and will be a more than able replacement.”

The winner of the Stephen Lawrence Prize 2021 will be announced at the RIBA Stirling Prize ceremony on Thursday 14 October at Coventry Cathedral.


Notes to editors

  1. For further press information contact:, 020 7307 3813
  2. Images and citations can be downloaded here.
  3. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. Follow us on Twitter for regular RIBA updates

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top