IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

The UK's best new homes - houses in the running for RIBA House of the Year 2019

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (27 June 2019) announced the longlist for the 2019 RIBA House of the Year.

27 June 2019

Clockwise from top left: Cork House © Ricky Jones; Black House © David Barbour; Pocket House © Edmund Sumner; The Ghost House ©Felix Mooneeram; Hannington Farm © Ståle Eriksen; Secular Retreat © Jack Hobhouse

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (27 June 2019) announced the longlist for the 2019 RIBA House of the Year.

Among the 20 projects in the running to win the UK’s most prestigious award for a new house or extension are a:

  • Cork-built home in the grounds of a listed mill in Berkshire (Cork House)
  • Highly-sustainable self-build Passivhaus in East Sussex (Hill House Passivhaus)
  • New home occupying the footprint of two garages in Kensington, London (Earl’s Court house)
  • Converted Arts and Crafts stable block in Llanhennock (Silver How)

The 20 longlisted homes are:

The shortlist and winner of the 2019 RIBA House of the Year will be revealed in the fifth series of Channel 4’s Grand Designs: House of the Year TV series, airing later this year.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information contact Abigail Chiswell-White +44 (0)20 7307 3811
  2. Images of all the winners along with jury citations can be downloaded here:
  3. The RIBA House of the Year award is awarded every year to the best new house or house extension designed by an architect in the UK. Previous winners include HaysomWardMiller for Lochside House (2018), Richard Murphy Architects for Murphy House (2016), Skene Catling de la Peña for Flint House (2015), Loyn & Co for Stormy Castle (2014) and Carl Turner Architects for Slip House (2013).
  4. The RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA Award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA Awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows. Entries are to be submitted to the region or nation in which the building is situated. Winners are considered for the RIBA Stirling Prize.
  5. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. Follow @RIBA on Twitter for regular updates.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top